FIREPLACES DIRECTORY

Acquisitions, 0845 094 1644; acquisitions.co.uk. Reproduction stone and marble surrounds.

After The Antique, (01366) 327210; aftertheantique.com. Stone reproduction fireplaces.

Anglia Fireplaces, (01223) 234713; fireplaces.co.uk. Modern fireplaces using the latest burning technology.

B+D Design, (020) 8964 5355; bd-designs.co.uk. Sculptural, individually made fires, in steel.

B&Q, 0845 222 1000; diy.com. Range of gas fires, including modern and traditional, flued and flueless.

Ballard & Bailey, (023) 9224 1111; ballardandbailey.com. Cast-iron and tiled fireplaces, replacement parts.

Baxi, 0845 601 0836; firesandstoves.co.uk. Gas and electric fires.

Burley, (01572) 756956; burley.co.uk. Range of flueless gas and electric fires with touch or remote control.

Capital Fireplaces, capitalfireplaces.co.uk. Modern classic fireplaces.

The Ceramic Stove Company, (01865) 245077; ceramicstove.com. New and antique Scandinavian stoves.

Charles Pearce, (020) 8995 3333; charlespearce.co.uk. Bespoke fires and fireplaces.

Charnwood, (01983) 537780; charnwood.com. Multi-fuel and wood burning stoves.

Chesney's, (020) 7627 1410; chesneys.co.uk. Antique, restored, bespoke surrounds and baskets.

The Chiswick Fireplace Company, (020) 8995 4011; thechiswickfireplace.co.uk. Wide range of traditional and modern surrounds and fires.

Coalbrookdale Stoves, 0845 338 1365; aga-web.co.uk. Cast-iron stoves from the Aga group.

CVO Fires, (01325) 301020; cvo.co.uk. Innovative and unusual gas and gel-burner feature fires.

De'Longhi, 0845 600 6845; delonghi.co.uk. Modern electric fires.

Diligence, (01364) 644790; diligenceinternational.com. Contemporary fires in steel and glass.

Dovre by Stovax, (01392) 474000; dovre.co.uk. Cast-iron stoves.

Edwardian Fireplace Company, (020) 8995 2554; edwardianfires.com. Traditional and modern fireplaces.

Elgin & Hall, (01677) 450712; elgin.co.uk. Modern and traditional surrounds with hand-painted finishes.

Encompass, (02392) 410045; encompassco.com. Contemporary fires and accessories.

Enerfoil Magnum, (01887) 822999; glassfires.co.uk. Individual glass fire, can be used anywhere in the home.

The English Chimneypiec, (01322) 619090; english-chimney piece.co.uk. Restoration of originals, plus a bespoke service.

Esse Stoves, (01282) 813235; esse.com. Cast-iron stoves, and the Firewall flueless gas fire.

Fires & Fireplaces by Antiquity, (0114) 232 9026; firesandfireplacesdirect.co.uk. Classic and modern styles.

Fireplace Warehouse, (01227) 457643; fireplacewarehouse.co.uk. Range of surrounds, fires and stoves in a wide choice of materials.

Franco Belge, (0121) 706 8266; franco-belge.co.uk. Wide variety of stoves for all types of fuel.

Gazco, (01392) 261999; gazco.com. Modern and traditional gas fires and stoves with realistic flame beds.

Gel Fireplaces, (020) 7486 3378; gelfireplaces.com. Specialists in gel fires and fireplaces, and supplies.

Haddonstone, (01604) 770711; haddonstone.co.uk. Stone fireplaces.

Heritage Stoneworks, (01298) 873173; heritagestoneworks.co.uk. Hand-carved natural stone surrounds.

Hwam, (01885) 491100; hwam.com. Multi-fuel, modern Scandinavian stoves, including wood-pellet models.

Ian Knapper, (01332) 364400; ianknapper.com. Individually made stone fire surrounds and hearths.

Jamb, (020) 7730 2122; jamblimited.com. Antique and reproduction fireplaces.

Jøtul, (01527) 506010; jotul.com. Traditional cast-iron stoves.

LASSCO, (020) 7749 9944; lassco.co.uk. Restored, reclaimed and renovated fires and fireplaces.

London Fire Designs, 0800 977 4010; londonfiredesigns.co.uk. Minimalist fireplaces and remote-control models.

Marble Hill Fireplaces, (020) 8892 1488; marblehill.co.uk. Installation service for surrounds and fires.

Modus Design, (020) 8906 9988; modusfireplacedesigns.com. Avant-garde specialists.

Montpellier Marble, (01452) 714800; montpellier.co.uk. Suppliers and stockists of marble fire surrounds.

Morsø, (01788) 554410; morsouk.com. Cast-iron stoves from Denmark, including multifuel models.

Oka, 0870 160 6002; okadirect.com.

The Platonic Fireplace Company, (020) 8891 5904; platonicfireplaces.co.uk. Modern fires and fireplaces.

Portway, (01787) 472551; portway fires.com. New or traditional fires.

Renaissance, (020) 7251 8844; renaissancelondon.com. Antique surrounds, also a bespoke service.

Robeys, (01773) 820940; robeys.co.uk. Stoves, fireplaces, and hand-made surrounds by Ian Knapper.

Roger Pearson, (01246) 276393; rogerpearson.co.uk. Hand-carved designs in marble.

Rudloe Stoneworks, (01225) 816400; rudloe-stone.com. Modern and traditional cast-stone fire surrounds.

Stovax, (01392) 474011; stovax.com. Stoves, fires and surrounds.

Templestone, (01963) 350242; templestone.co.uk. Good choice of stone surrounds.

Thor Stoves, 0845 226 5754; thorstoves.com. Reproduction and restored antique models in cast iron.

Twentieth Century Fires, (0161) 429 9042; c20fires.co.uk. Tiled fireplaces and fireplace inserts.

Valor, 0845 601 0836; firesandstoves.co.uk. Gas and electric fires.

Verine, (01787) 472551; verine.co.uk. Sleek modern fires.

Villager Stoves, 0870 160 2202; villager.co.uk. Traditional stoves in cast iron and pressed steel.

Yeoman Stoves, (01392) 474500; yeoman-stoves.co.uk. Traditional and modern stoves and heating products.

HELPFUL CONTACTS

CORGI, 0870 401 2300; corgi-gas-safety.com. Contact CORGI to find a registered gas installer.

Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG), (020) 7944 4400; communities.gov.uk. Information on fire safety and regulations.

HETAS, 0845 634 5626; hetas.co.uk. The official body to approve solid-fuel heating appliances, fuels and services. Find registered installers and heating engineers.

The National Association of Chimney Sweeps (NACS), (01785) 811732; chimneyworks.co.uk. To find a chimney sweep in your area. It's important to get your chimney cleaned and checked before installing a new fire.

National Fireplace Association, (0121) 200 1310; nfa.org.uk. The trade association of the fire and fireplace industry promotes high standards. It also publishes a series of information booklets and an annual guide to the best stoves, fires and fireplaces.

OFTEC, 0845 658 5080; oftec.co.uk. Contact OFTEC to locate a registered technician and fuel supplier for oil-based systems.

Solid Fuel Association, 0845 601 4406; solidfuel.co.uk. Informative and site about heating and fuels.