Looking for a new sofa or chair for your home? Then look no further than our comprehensive list of manufacturers and retailers.

B&B Italia, 020 7591 8111, bebitalia.it.

Modern Italian designs in contemporary fabrics and materials.

Balmain & Balmain, 01963 220247, balmainandbalmain.co.uk.

Bespoke upholstered furniture.

Barker & Stonehouse, 07971 478958, barkerandstonehouse.co.uk.

Unusual modern and traditional designs.

Beaumont & Fletcher, 020 7352 5594, beaumontandfletcher.com.

Traditionally handmade furniture.

Bo Concept, 0845 605 0565, boconcept.co.uk.

Well-priced modern designs.

Brights Interiors, 0117 925 3073, brights-interiors.com.

Traditional English upholstered designs.

Chaplins, 020 8421 1779, chaplins.co.uk.

Modern pieces from well-known names.

The Conran Shop, 020 7589 7401, conranshop.co.uk.

Contemporary designs.

Designers Guild, 020 7351 5775, designersguild.com.

Simple modern shapes in bright fabrics.

The Dormy House, 01264 365808. thedormyhouse.com.

Footstools and ottomans that can be covered in customers' own fabrics.

Dudgeon, 020 7589 0322, dudgeonsofas.com.

Traditional pieces, handmade to order.

Dwell, 0870 241 8653, dwell.co.uk.

Contemporary, well-priced designs.

Ecco Trading, 020 7498 5005, eccotrading.com.

Great range of upholstered chairs.

Furniture Village , 0800 783 0830, furniturevillage.co.uk.

Contemporary and classic looks.

G Plan Upholstery, 0870 902 8711, gplan.co.uk.

Long-established company.

The General Trading Company, 020 7730 0411, general-trading.co.uk.

Wide choice of classic styles and fabrics.

Geoffrey Drayton, 020 7387 5840, geoffrey-drayton.co.uk. Ultra-contemporary upholstery.

George Sherlock, 020 7736 3955, georgesherlock.com.

Over-sized sofas in antique styles.

George Smith, 020 7736 3955, georgesmith.co.uk.

Standard and bespoke designs.

Habitat, 0844 499 1111, habitat.net.

Contemporary and retro-inspired designs, including leather pieces.

Heal's, 020 7636 1666, heals.co.uk.

Wide choice of upholstery.

Highly Sprung, 020 7924 1124, highlysprung.net.

Large range of styles.

Ilva, 0845 245 8285, ilva.co.uk.

Good-quality, budget modern design.

Ikea, 0845 355 1141, ikea.co.uk.

Budget pieces available immediately.

Intosofa, 01535 604090, intosofa.com.

Flexible self-assembly sofas by mail.

John Lewis, 0845 604 9049.

Classic, good-value designs.

KA International, 0870 011 4334, ka-international.com.

Comfortable, streamlined shapes.

Kirkdale, 01495 243999, kirkdale.co.uk.

Classic, affordable looks by mail order.

Laura Ashley, 0870 562 2116.

Classic and traditional looks.

Leather Chairs of Bath, 01225 447920, leatherchairs.co.uk.

Copies of classic designs, and antiques.

Leather Workshop, 01495 243000, leatherworkshop.co.uk.

Affordable, classic pieces by mail order.

Ligne Roset, 0870 777 7202, . ligne-roset.co.uk.

Colourful upholstery.

Louis & Louis, louisandlouis.com

Luxury, made-to-order and bespoke furniture

Marks & Spencer, 0845 603 1603.

Low-key classic and traditional designs.

Muji, 020 7436 1779, muji.co.uk.

Good contemporary sofas.

Multiyork, 08705 273747, multiyork.co.uk.

Vast choice of sofas and armchairs.

Next, 0845 600700, next.co.uk.

Well-priced modern designs.

New Heights, 020 8452 1500, new-heights.co.uk.

Eclectic range in over 200 fabrics.

Odeon Furniture Company, 01495 244226, odeonfurniture.co.uk.

Well-priced modern pieces available by mail order.

Pinch Design, 020 7501 9262, pinchdesign.com.

Elegant modern pieces by Russell Pinch.

Purves & Purves, 020 8838 0200, purves.co.uk.

Witty modern pieces.

Quinton Cavendish, 01494 431200, quintoncavendish.co.uk.

Online retailer, also huge showroom.

Roche Bobois, 020 7431 1411, roche-bobois.com.

Exclusive, quirky designs made to order.

Rolf Benz, 01908 604629, rolf-benz.com.

Modern, high-quality designs to order.

SCP, 020 7739 1869, scp.co.uk.

Interesting contemporary upholstery.

Saxon Leather Upholstery, 01204 368410, saxonleather.co.uk.

Classic designs by mail order.

Scumble Goosie, 01453 731305; scumble-goosie.co.uk.

Swedish-style sofas and dining chairs.

Sofa.com, 0845 400 2222, sofa.com.

Great value by mail; London showroom.

Sofa Design, 020 8518 0804, sofadesign.co.uk.

Custom-made, including corner designs.

SofaSofa, 01495 244226, sofasofa.co.uk

L-shaped and chaise designs by mail.

Sofa Workshop, 01798 345345, sofaworkshop.com

Classic designs and contemporary looks.

Springvale Leather Furniture , 01706 225005, springvaleleather.co.uk.

Classic designs to order.

Thomas Lloyd, 01443 771222, thomaslloyd.com.

Classic and modern leather designs.

Twentytwentyone, 020 7288 1996, twentytwentyone.co.uk.

Quirky upholstery designs.

WAWA, 020 7729 6768, wawa.co.uk.

Unusual contemporary shapes and colourful fabrics.

Wesley Barrell, 01993 893100, wesley-barrell.co.uk.

Traditional designs.

William Yeoward, 020 7349 7828, williamyeoward.com

Classics in luxury fabrics.

Zoffany, 08708 300350, zoffany.co.uk.

Stunning fabric ranges.