* As with kitchen planning, it's worth listing what you need to store in your bedroom and working out how much hanging- and drawer-space is required.

* If you are starting from scratch, you can opt for fitted furniture or freestanding designs, or a combination of the two. If there are already cupboards in place, a new paint finish and updated interior fittings will help improve the look.

*Additional items like a bed-end chest or a multi-drawer cabinet can also provide crucial extra storage.

 

Fully fitted and walk-in wardrobes

Make the most out of your space

* Most bedrooms will benefit from fitted furniture - a good designer will be able to solve the problems of awkward angles, uneven alcoves and out-of-proportion walls to present a sleek, uniform appearance.

* Even if the fitted section is restricted to one wall, it will still provide generous hanging and shelf space.

* L-shaped bedrooms lend themselves to being split into sleeping and wardrobe areas: depending on the layout, you can either have a door leading to a walk-in wardrobe with open shelves and rails beyond, or just a separate space with a traditional wardrobe.

 

Underbed storage

Make full use of the area underneath your bed

* Never underestimate the value of the space beneath your bed. Even if your room has ample cupboards, shoes and bags seem to gravitate to that forgotten area, so it makes sense to use it properly.

* Standard bedsteads can be teamed with sturdy under-bed baskets, or even large drawers on castors. 

* Divan beds with drawers are extremely useful, but choose one with a plain fabric cover so you don't need to use a valance sheet and can reach the drawers easily.

* The latest idea is the lift-up bed, where the entire slatted base is raised, usually via a hydraulic system, to reveal a storage area the size of the bed. It's more disruptive than drawers, but an excellent place to stow out-of-season quilts and blankets.

 

Freestanding drawers and wardrobes

Chest of drawers from Freemans

* There's currently a trend for low, horizontal chests of drawers, good news if you want to store bulky items such as blankets or big jumpers.

* Low, wide drawers could even be used for shoes and handbags. But if floor space is limited, consider tall, narrow chests with lots of drawers - perfect for smaller items such as T-shirts and lingerie.

* Freestanding wardrobes are less popular then they used to be, but they are still a good choice, especially in a period home with alcoves either side of a chimney breast. Here, a wardrobe positioned in each alcove with the bed opposite and a sturdy set of bedside drawers will cover most storage needs.

 

Bedroom storage directory

Check out our favourite bedroom storage stores


Freestanding Furniture

B&Q, 0845 850 0175; diy.com.
Belle Maison, 01403 822440; bellemaison.com.
Benchmark Furniture, 01488 608020; benchmark-furniture.com.
BoConcept, 0845 605 0565; boconcept.co.uk.
Chamber Furniture, 01959 532553; chamberfurniture.co.uk.
The Cotswold Company, 0870 241 0973; cotswoldco.com.
Dwell, 0870 241 8653; dwell.co.uk.
Feather & Black, 01243 380600; featherandblack.com.
Frank Hudson, 01494 522011; frankhudson.com.
Grange & Fired Earth Interiors, 0845 366 0400; firedearth.com.
Heal's, 020 7636 1666; heals.co.uk.
Ikea, 0845 355 1141; ikea.co.uk.
John Lewis, 0845 604 9049; johnlewis.com.
Laura Ashley, 0870 562 2116; lauraashley.com.
Ligne Roset, 0870 777 7202; ligne-roset.co.uk.
Lombok, 0870 240 7380; lombok.co.uk.
Marks & Spencer, 0845 302 1234; marksandspencer.com.
MFI, 0870 609 5555; mfi.co.uk.
Muji, 020 7287 7323; muji.co.uk.
New Heights, 020 8452 1500; new-heights.co.uk.
Next Home, 0870 243 5435; next.co.uk.
The Pier, 0845 609 1234; pier.co.uk.
Poliform, 020 7368 7600; poliform.co.uk.
Raft, 020 8450 5078; raftltd.co.uk.
Wickes, 0800 106068; wickes.co.uk.
Willis & Gambier, 01799 510170; wguk.com.


Fitted and Walk-In


Caple, 0870 606 9606; caple.co.uk.
Chamber Furniture, (01959) 532553; chamberfurniture.co.uk.
Embrace Bedrooms, 0800 555861; embracebedrooms.com.
Hammonds, 0800 251505; hammonds-uk.com.
Mark Wilkinson Furniture, (01380) 850007; mwf.com.
Martin Moore & Company, (0161) 928 2643.
Mowlem & Co, (020) 7610 6626; mowlemandco.co.uk.
Neville Johnson, (0161) 873 8333; nevillejohnson.co.uk.
Nigel Gilks Cabinetmakers, (01242) 604662; nigelgilks.com.
Options, (020) 8685 1525; optionsfit.com.
Sharps, 0800 789789; sharps.co.uk.
Smallbone, (020) 7589 5998; smallbone.co.uk.
Strachan, 0800 013 8139; strachan.co.uk.
Thomas & Thomas, (01625) 890490; thomasthomas.net.
Underwood Kitchens, (01296) 771800; underwood-kitchens.co.uk.
Wackenhut, (01483) 281420; wackenhut.de.


Underbed


Dwell, 0870 241 8653; dwell.co.uk.
Habitat, 0845 601 0740; habitat.net.
Heal's, (020) 7636 1666; heals.co.uk.
The London Wall Bed Company, (020) 8742 8200; wallbed.co.uk.
Poliform, (020) 7368 7600; poliform.co.uk.
The White Company, 0870 900 9555; thewhitecompany.com.
Wickes, 0800 106068; wickes.co.uk.


Accessories


The Cotswold Company, 0870 241 0973; cotswoldco.com.
The Holding Company, (020) 8445 2888; theholdingcompany.co.uk.
Ikea, 0845 355 1141; ikea.co.uk.
Laura Ashley, 0870 562 2116; lauraashley.com.
Lombok, 0870 240 7380; lombok.co.uk.
Marks & Spencer, 0845 302 1234; marksandspencer.com.
Next Home, 0870 243 5435; next.co.uk.
The White Company, 0870 900 9555; thewhitecompany.com.

For more retail contacts visit housetohome's directory.